Dive


This was a super fun bombing because not only do I love to work with yarn, I love to scuba dive.  There are a couple of dive shops in Calgary but this is the one I go to, so I thought I would give them some free advertising.  These pole cozies are actually crocheted not knit.  I took a quick measurement to see how wide the poles were before I started then made each one in that size and sewed them up for a quick covering.  Two worked out beautifully, I just had to pull them down over the pole and they stayed, the other two were made from a different type of white yarn so they were to big so I had to quickly put in some stitches with my needle and extra yarn to keep it from falling down.  While I was doing that one of the girls came out of the shop carrying a tank for a customer and she said “What are you doing?” and I told her I was decorating the poles and it is called yarnbombing.  When she was finished with the customer she came back to admire the poles.  She said “Awesome now our poles will be nice and warm”.

I went back later the same week I placed the pole cozies and saw that they were no longer on the poles.  I went in to return my rented gear and there they were in the middle of the shop on display.  I suppose they didn’t want them to get stolen or wrecked being outside.  I was tickled pink that the shop not only enjoyed the cozies but wanted to protect them as well as put them on display.

Leave a comment